California Dog Tethering Laws & How They Prevent Dog Bites

This week we discussed how and why continuously chaining or tethering your dog can lead to dog bite incidents and dog attacks: tethering makes dog territorial and aggressive. At the same time, tethered dogs can be approached by unknowing children or can escape from their chains.

In California, tethering or chaining your dog to a stationary object for extended periods of time was outlawed in 2007. Let’s take a closer look at the law.

California Tethering Laws

According to the law, which was written and proposed by Long Beach State Senator Alan Lowenthal, no dog can be chained to an unmoving object for more than three hours out of any 24-hour period. However, a dog may be tethered to a pulley system, trolley system, or zip line unless it is wearing a choke collar. Dogs in areas which require constant leashing, such as campsites and recreational areas, may be tethered for longer than three hours. In addition, dogs which are hunting or herding animals also may be chained or tethered for extended periods of time.

Tethering and Chaining Penalties

First-time offenders who have not put the health of their dogs or the safety of others into question will be issued a warning. Others may be issued a $250 ticket for each tethered dog. If the tethering is more than a first-time offense and also involves endangering the safety and health of the dog or others, the pet owner could face a misdemeanor charge which comes with a $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail.

Have you or has your child been injured in a dog attack involving a tethered or chained dog? Call the Newport Beach injury attorneys at Russell & Lazarus to set up a free, private meeting with a lawyer who can help: 885-851-2400.

Receive A Complimentary Case Evaluation

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.